Contantines Fonds

Biographical History

Date 1999-

The punk-rock group from Guelph, Ontario, formed in 1999, with members Bryan Webb (vocals, guitar), Steve Lambke (guitar, keyboards, vocals), Doug MacGregor (drums), and Dallas Wehrle (bass guitar, backing vocals). In 2002, the band briefly had Evan Gordon join, playing keyboard, though he was replaced by Will Kidman (keyboards, guitar, percussion, backing vocals) when Gordon went to work on a solo career.

The band was founded in 1999 after the collapse of Cambridge and London, Ontario bands Captain Co-Pilot and Shoulder. From these bands, Lambke, Wehrle, Webb, and MacGregor came together to form The Constantines. For the first three years the band was based out of Guelph, but eventually moved to Toronto by 2001, after a brief stint in London, Ontario. Their debut album, self-titled Constantines was nominated for a Juno Award for Best alternative Album. The next year they added keyboardist Gordon, then later Kidman. The band has released numerous albums and has been nominated for various awards, including the top rock album of 2008 by the Associated Press and a Juno nomination in 2009 for artwork design of the year.


  • The Constantines (Three Gut Records, 2001. Reissued by Sub Pop, 2004)

  • The Modern Sinner Nervous Man EP (Suicide Squeeze Records, 2002)

  • Shine a Light (Three Gut Records/Sub Pop Records, 2003)

  • Nighttime Anytime EP (Sub Pop, 2003)

  • Tournament of Hearts (Three Gut Records/Sub Pop Records, 2005)

  • Kensington Heights (Arts & Crafts, 2008)

  • Too Slow For Love EP (Arts & Crafts, 2009)

Conditions governing access

Preservation concerns may limit access, consult archivist.

Contantines Fonds